Sri Lanka and India were once connected by a land-bridge that extended from South India to the tiny island of Mannar in the North East.

According to the Mahavamsa and Deepavama, ancient chronicles written by Buddhist monks of the Anuradhapura Maha Viharaya; in 543 BCE, settlers from the ancient city of Sinhapura in India led by Prince Vijaya arrived and settled on the island

Sri Lanka's first ancient capital was at Anuradhapura and its 2nd capital was at Polonnaruwa (see descriptions under places to visit).

The administrative divisions of Sri Lanka are 1st level – Provinces, 2nd level – Districts, 3rd level – Municipalities, 4th level – Wards, 5th level – Grama Niladhari divisions / towns. There are 9 provinces and 25 districts in Sri Lanka, today.

Important – All the districts in Sri Lanka, have district capital (cities) which have the same name as the district. Geographically, a district is a large area, usually composed of several cities and smaller townships. Thus, when choosing your accommodation property, please be aware than an address in the district of Kandy, which seems to be nearby to the city, could actually be several hours journey by road. 


The 9 provinces of Sri Lanka and their provincial capitals are:

Name of Province / Name of Provincial Capital

  • Central province / Kandy
  • Eastern province / Trincomalee
  • North Central province / Anuradhapura
  • Northern province / Jaffna
  • North Western province / Kurunegala
  • Sabaragamuwa province / Ratnapura
  • Southern province / Galle
  • Uva province / Badulla
  • Western province / Colombo

We strive to provide the best possible travel itineraries for your investment; with the least possible hassle.


The Travel Cafe Limited

Our Offices are located at:
85/23, Jawatte Gardens (Off Jawatte Road),
Sri Lanka 00500.

+94 11 4280620
+94 11 4280747

+94 711 004588

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Hours of Operation:
8.30am-10pm Daily (except Sunday)
Sri Lanka standard time GMT +5.30

During other times, we are reachable by telephone. Please call +94-11-4280747.


The Travel Cafe Private Limited is incorporated under the Companies Act no. 7, 2007 of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka as a Private Company.

Company number: PV 91404

The Travel Cafe Private Limited is registered as a Travel Agent in the Registrar of Travel Agents maintained by the Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority.

Registration number: SLTDA-SQA-TA-01690

The Travel Cafe Private Limited is licensed to carry on business as a Travel Agent.

License number: TA-2019-0063